Workshop Steering Committee

Winnie Shiu

Chair of the Workshop Steering Committee, Chair of FIG Commission 1, President of The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors (HKIS)

Jixian Zhang

Vice president of FIG, vice president of Chinese Society for Geodesy Photogrammetry and Cartography

Zhiwei Shen

Executive Deputy Director of Moganshan High-tech Zone, China

Hans Ni

President of Beijing iSpatial Co., Ltd, FIG corporate member

Technical Committee

Brian Coutts

Head of Technical Committee

Former chair of FIG commission 1

Dr Brian Coutts is a retired land use planner and cadastral surveyor from New Zealand. After 20 years of central government service in these capacities, he joined the University of Otago’s New Zealand National School of Surveying where he worked for 25 years before retiring in 2018. He was variously a Senior Lecturer, Deputy Head of School and Director of Environmental Science. He has formerly held the positions of President of the New Zealand Institute of Surveyors (NZIS), Chair of the Cadastral Surveyors Board of New Zealand, President of the Commonwealth Association of Surveying and Land Economy (CASLE) and Chair of Commission 1 (2015-18) of the International Federation of Surveyors (FIG). He also served as the Commission Chairs’ representative on the Council of FIG.

Hui Lin

Jiangxi Normal University, China

Professor Hui Lin serves as Dean of the School of Geography and Environment, Jiangxi Normal University. He graduated from Wuhan Technical University of Surveying and Mapping in 1980, received his MSc degree on remote sensing and cartography from Chinese Academy of Science in 1983 and M.A. degree on geography from University at Buffalo in 1987, and received his Ph.D. on Geography in 1992 from Univcersity at Buffalo. Professor Lin's research interests include radar remote sensing, virtual geographic environment, and spatially integrated humanities and social sciences. He is the winner of AAG Miller Award 2017 and the Outstanding Contribution Award of AARS 2019.

Yun Shao

Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth, Chinese Academy of Sciences(CAS), China

Yun Shao is a professor from Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) . She received B.Sc and M.Sc from Peking University, Ph.D from IRSA/CAS. She joined CAS in 1986 and has been engaged in the research of Radar Remote Sensing Science and application for a long time, especially in areas of target microwave scattering mechanism model, large-scale microwave target measurement device construction and national space infrastructure research as well as various applications based on radar remote sensing. She published 264 articles, including 58 SCI articles with 163 citations for a single article. She applied for 21 invention patents, among them 14 were already authorized and obtained 18 software copyrights. She won the second prize of China National Science and Technology Progress, the first prize of Natural Science of Chinese Academy of Sciences, the first prize of Science and Technology Progress of Chinese Academy of Sciences and the first prize of Science and Technology of Beijing.

Timo Balz

Wuhan University, China

Timo Balz was born in Stuttgart, Germany. He received the Diploma degree (Dipl.-Geogr.) in geography and the Doctoral degree (Dr.-Ing.) in aerospace engineering and geodesy from the Universitaet Stuttgart in 2001 and 2007 respectively.

From fall 2001 to the end of 2007, he was a Research Assistant with the Institute for Photogrammetry, Universitaet Stuttgart. Between 2004 and 2005, he was a Visiting Scholar with Wuhan University, Wuhan, China. From 2008-2010, he has been a Postdoctoral Research Fellow with the State Key Laboratory of Information Engineering in Surveying, Mapping and Remote Sensing (LIESMARS), Wuhan University. From 2010-2015 he was Associate Professor for Radar Remote Sensing with LIESMARS. Since 2015 he is Full Professor with LIESMARS.

He serves as Associate Editor for Remote Sensing and he is member of the editorial board of Geo-Spatial Information Science. Since 2016 he is Chair of the ISPRS Commission I Working Group on SAR and Microwave Sensing. He has authored and co-authored about 150 scientific articles in journals, books, and conference proceedings.

Timo Balz’s research interests include surface motion estimation with SAR, data visualization, SAR geodesy, and the use of SAR data to support archaeological prospections.

Craig Hancock

University of Nottingham of Ningbo , China

Dr Craig Hancock is an Associate Professor of Geospatial Engineering as well as the Head of Civil Engineering and Head of the Geospatial Research Group at the University of Nottingham Ningbo China. Dr Hancock has published more than 70 research articles on various topics related to Geospatial Engineering, including research on GNSS, Laser Scanning and BIM. He is currently a member of the editorial board for the Journal “Survey Review” and is a member of the BIM/IAG working group on BIM. Previously he has acted as the Vice Chair of Commission 6 “Engineering Surveys” for the FIG and sat on the regional board of the Insitute of Civil Engineering Surveyors.

Local Organizing Committee


Zhiwei Shen, Executive Deputy Director of Moganshan High-tech Zone, China

Executive deputy director:

Genrong Cao, Deputy director of Moganshan High-tech Zone, China

Deputy directors:

Baoyi Jiao, Director of administration office, Moganshan High-tech Zone, China

Wenzhong Yao, Chief director of Deqing Geospatial Town


Weiwei Tang, Rachel Niu, Jian Yao, Kaili Wang , Prosper Washaya